Over 1,300 EAM / CMMS Codes to Improve Asset Management

Codes drive asset management reporting and analysis. They also make the CMMS software syste or EAM software system easier to use. Codes sort, group, and report information, allowing asset management data to be parsed and rolled up. Because of this, establishing good CMMS best practices – coding structures, including EAM / CMMS failure codes, is essential to EAM software performance.

SwainSmith helps organizations develop world-class EAM coding structures. We work with all of the major CMMS and EAM software systems, including IBM Maximo, Infor EAM, Oracle eAM, and SAP Enterprise Asset Management. We leverage our extensive coding library and deep knowledge of process and technology to deliver clear, thorough coding structures that are tailored to each client’s needs.

EAM Master Data Catalog

To facilitate client code development efforts, we employ our custom-built library that includes over 1,300 proprietary codes. Our library provides coding schemes for the entire enterprise asset management operation:

  • Equipment Codes – Groupings, Classifications, Categories, Criticality
  • Reliability Codes – Problem, Failure, Cause, Action
  • Work Management Codes – Observation, Work Order Types, Classes, Statuses, Priorities, How Found, Delay, Constraint, Transaction Flags, etc.
  • Material Codes – Commodities, Classifications, UNSPSC, SMD Naming Conventions
  • Materials Management Codes – Return to Stores, Return to Vendor, Inventory Discrepancies, etc.
  • Vendor Codes – Classes, Service, etc.
  • Procurement Codes – Purchase Order Types, Statuses, Vendor Performance, Receiving Discrepancies, Return to Supplier, etc.
  • Accounting Coordination Codes – Invoice Discrepancies, etc.

Our distinctive and clearly defined coding sets are built on ISO 14224 and other industry standards, guaranteeing your company a proven approach to enterprise asset management. That’s why some of the world’s leading manufacturing companies use our master data catalog in their operations.

SwainSmith’s EAM Master Data Catalog jump-starts your EAM software implementation process and provides the foundation for turning data into information.

EAM / CMMS Failure Code Library

Failure codes are the heart of asset reliability reporting. They allow maintenance managers and reliability engineers to analyze the cost and frequency of different types of equipment failures. This, in turn, allows a plant or business to make smarter decisions when it comes to purchasing and maintaining physical assets.

SwainSmith’s EAM and CMMS failure code library contains four types of codes—problem, failure, action, and cause—that are organized into a structured hierarchy to facilitate precise reporting.

CMMS Failure Codes

Problem codes identify the general problem with a piece of equipment, such as “leaking,” “seized,” or “vibration.” Our coding library contains problem codes for over 160 specific equipment classes, such as pump, motor, heat exchanger, and so on. This coding structure, organized by equipment class, enables more detailed reporting and allows maintenance technicians to easily find the code they need.

Failure codes define the specific component that failed and the type of failure—for example, “shaft bent,” “bearing worn,” or “gasket leaking.” These codes introduce more granularity into failure reporting, allowing the maintenance department to analyze equipment failures with greater detail. The equipment failure codes in our library are sorted into hierarchies under specific equipment classes and problem codes, making them highly specific but still easy to find.

Action codes, sometimes called “remedy codes,” identify the action that the maintenance technician took to rectify the equipment issue. Because these codes describe general maintenance activities, such as “cleaned” or “replaced,” they apply to all equipment classes.

Cause codes identify the general reason why the asset was underperforming, such as “design flaw,” “operator error,” or “maintenance issue.” These codes are designed to be used by a reliability engineer, not by maintenance technicians. They provide a starting point for root cause analysis (RCA).

Word Order Codes

Work order codes are one of the basic building blocks of effective work management. They give maintenance the ability to sort, group, and filter work orders in the CMMS or EAM software system. This facilitates key operational reporting, such as the ability to list open work orders, and provides the starting point for cost analysis.

SwainSmith’s EAM code library contains a comprehensive set of work order codes. These codes provide a robust foundation for managing maintenance work. They cover all of the coding structures that are commonly needed for maintenance management:

  • Observation Codes
  • Work Order Type Codes
  • Work Order Class Codes
  • Work Order Status Codes
  • Work Order Priority Codes
  • How Found Codes
  • Delay Reason Codes
  • Constraint Codes
  • Transaction Flags
  • And More!

Materials Management Codes

Coding structures are essential to effective materials management. Material codes are used to sort MRO items by class, commodity, and so on. Materials management codes are used to tag storeroom transactions, such as pick tickets and return slips, to facilitate reporting. SwainSmith’s EAM code library includes a robust set of material and materials management coding structures:

  • MRO Item Commodities
  • MRO Item Classifications
  • United Nations Standard Products and Services Codes (UNSPSC)
  • Standard Modifier Dictionary (SMD) Naming Conventions
  • Return to Stores Reason Codes
  • Return to Vendor Reason Codes
  • Inventory Discrepancy Codes
  • And More!

Procurement Codes

Procurement codes are necessary for effective purchasing management, vendor management, and spend analysis. Purchase order codes allow the procurement department to tag and manage purchase orders as they move through the requisition and quotation processes. Vendor codes allow the procurement department to organize the vendor master database and track vendor performance. Together, these procurement coding structures give procurement detailed insights into MRO purchasing costs.

SwainSmith’s EAM code library contains a comprehensive set of procurement coding structures:

  • Purchase Order Type Codes
  • Purchase Order Status Codes
  • Vendor Class Codes
  • Vendor Service Codes
  • Vendor Performance Codes
  • Receiving Discrepancy Codes
  • Return to Vendor Reason Codes
  • Invoice Discrepancy Codes
  • And More!

Develop rich EAM coding structures with SwainSmith.

We can build your organization a complete set of EAM codes based on industry-accepted standards and 20 years of consulting experience. Our service includes:

  • Start-to-finish coding structure development.
  • Access to SwainSmith’s proprietary EAM coding libraries.
  • Development of custom codes and coding structures.

We can develop comprehensive coding structures for your whole enterprise asset management operation. Or, if you wish, we can focus on a specific area, such as failure codes or materials management codes. Whatever your EAM coding needs, SwainSmith can help.

Get a complimentary EAM/CMMS code evaluation.

We’ll take a look at your EAM/CMMS coding sets and give you some ideas for improving them. No charge or obligation—just a quick and friendly assessment.

Use the email form or call 828-215-9471